When in India, look out for these gents

Erin Hill Sketching KL

I thought airport screening was tight but security here in India has become even more visible in everyday life. Bags are screened, bodies are scanned (yes, all those thousands of bodies every day using trains in the major cities) and sandbagged soldiers aim real guns at commuters at Metro station entrances.

I decided to go into Connaught Place, or Rajiv Chowk to the locals, by train.  After getting through the hectic morning traffic, going nowhere fast,  I finally got to the station where I bought my Smart card after first going through security.  On the platform I saw these great pink signs indicating the ladies only carriage. What a GREAT idea! When I returned from Rajiv Chowk metro station, there were guards on the platform preventing the non-law abiding male variety from entering. Yay! Way to go! Looking through our relatively spacious carriage I could see how the less gentle of…

View original post 272 more words

Leave a Reply

